HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Compulsion84

Logitech MX Master Review: A Great Wireless Mouse with A HUGE Software Flaw That's Bad For Gaming

98 ratings | 26260 views
I tested the MX Master Wireless Mouse for a few weeks and made this review / overview. In a lot of ways it's a good mouse with a lot of features like lots of buttons, a long lasting wireless battery life, a unique horizontal scroll wheel (video editing / excel), and an ergonomic shape (to some people). The MX Master is definitely not for gaming though with it's low DPI... unless you like that. Even though this is a great mouse that replaces the Logitech Performance MX, but its got some big flaws. As I tested the MX Master mouse for the review, I ended up hating it. The MX Master mouse does not have enough software customization options. The horizontal scroll wheel and disengaging scroll wheel were really cool, but the software just didn’t have the options and features that I needed. The DPI speed was too low for me and definitely won't work for gaming. Some people found this mouse ergonomic, but it was quite uncomfortable for me. This mouse is great for certain video editing applications and fantastic for office uses like Microsoft Excel and Access, but it just didn’t work for me. If you use the Adobe suite, Premier Pro, or Sony Vegas the horizontal scroll wheel (and this mouse in general) will probably work great, but in Powerdirector 12, or just want more software options, the MX Master's horizontal scroll is useless. Product Links (Amazon Affiliate) Logitech MX Master Wireless Mouse: http://amzn.to/29B91Mm Logitech G500 Gaming Mouse (wired): http://amzn.to/29HVH8o Logitech G502 Proteus Mouse (500 replacement, wired): http://amzn.to/2a0gYZy Razer DeathAdder Gaming Mouse (wired): http://amzn.to/29xaUcB Razer DeathAdder Gaming Chroma (wired): http://amzn.to/29B9i22 Microsoft Sculpt Wireless Mouse: http://amzn.to/2azkGK1 Microsoft Sculpt Keyboard & Numpad: http://amzn.to/29PqBgS Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard & Mouse: https://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-L5V-00001-Ergonomic-Wireless-Keyboard/dp/B00CYX54C0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1469152018&sr=8-1&keywords=microsoft+sculpt+keyboard+and+mouse Anker Wireless Ergo Mouse: http://amzn.to/29Xh84y Logitech G13 Programmable Gameboard with LCD (wired): http://amzn.to/29HVWQy ● Subscribe to my channel for great videos: http://goo.gl/rojW6z ● Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Compulsion84 ● Like me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Compulsion84 Playlists: ● Guns: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLVbbgy2MVvMficOwVvR-ziOwswE90uAVc ● Gaming: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLVbbgy2MVvMe_HavpQGeYXENqW5dl76eO ● Gadgets: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLVbbgy2MVvMcFlpD_8sgPu2MtLLOZ_VLu I have an Amazon Affiliate Store, some of my videos have affiliate links. My Page: http://astore.amazon.com/comp84-20
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (99)
A.A. B. (1 month ago)
what about 2s?
corsegerspwnd (2 months ago)
number 1 this mouse is way way way to fucking heavy. returned it after 1 day
Bluebrain (3 months ago)
My problems with the MX Master are (coming from a G602): - horizontal scrolling does not work in any of my software. The browser seems to be the only app where it works. - forward/back buttons hard to reach and very small - gesture button needs too much force to press - the special scroll wheel electromagnetic(?) mechanism is really nice, but the relatively loud click sound you hear is getting annoying
Compulsion84 (3 months ago)
They could really knock this out of the park if they just fixed the stupid software.
Abdulai Bah (5 months ago)
love the design but hate the wheel.
Kevin Conaty (5 months ago)
It's *not designed* for gaming Edit: all but your deathader are shit for gaming
Aaron Tanaka (9 months ago)
hm maybe an update review would fix your complaints... title of the video is pretty misleading too, many professional gamers use dpi levels around 800
Compulsion84 (9 months ago)
+Aaron Tanaka Has the software been overhauled?
officesound (10 months ago)
Agree 100% after 1 month i decided to return it! I am CAD,3D designer this mouse is killing my hand and after 1 month scroll button get lose,not mentioning its hard to click ...imho all logitech mouses has this issue.to hard to click.Thx for true review!
Compulsion84 (10 months ago)
+officesound I'm happy you liked it. The logitech shape is definitely off for a lot of people. I'm still on my goldilocks style struggle for the perfect ergonomic high end mouse.
Möt Crüe (1 year ago)
Serious? you purchased it for gaming??
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
I didn't buy it exclusively for gaming, mainly ergonomics. Being able to use it in games would've been a benefit though.
Toby Cunliffe (1 year ago)
Can you get it left handed
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
+Toby Cunliffe Nope, only offered for righties. Some Razer mice are ambidextrous and they might have left handed versions.
JuniorDesigns (1 year ago)
I don't think you spent enough time with this mouse, you can change the buttons for every single application on your computer
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
+JuniorDesigns It allowed you to change buttons, but the options for many controls were very limited compared to their other software for game pads and gaming mice.
Hugh Mungus (1 year ago)
lol clicky mode ''ratchet''
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Lol, sometimes the words escape you. That makes perfect sense, never got out of the "wrench rut" with that train of thought.
Fabian (1 year ago)
haahaha my dpi is 16000 btw i dont have a shitty mouse with too high dpi
TruToz (1 year ago)
dpi for mx master 2s is 4000 and i play with a gaming razor mouse with 3500 dpi
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Ahh, didn't realize they had refreshed the product line, nice.
Fadi Magdi (1 year ago)
Hey Just wanted to throw in an idea since I like customisations as well. For the thumb wheel on this mouse or any other mouse you might find lacking in the future, try out X-Mouse Button Control software to assign specific very customisable keystrokes/sequences to mouse buttons/wheels, on a global or per-application basis. I have the same issue with the thumb wheel when playing WoW and that piece of software solved it, among other things.
Fadi Magdi (1 year ago)
And a bit of follow up, a recent discovery is Hydramouse software. Even more customisations. Paid app though, but with a fully functional demo to try what it can do for you. It's event based rather than basic button based (double click, ctrl click, button combinations, etc). A little bit more complicated but solved many of my issues with WoW (I'm the kind of guy who wants all the abilities accessible with minimal finger movement :D) and fills the gap left by XMBC.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
That's pretty cool. I'll have to check it out if I ever face this issue again.
Jary Roxas (1 year ago)
hate this mouse. hardware flaw ( thumb button ) just using it casually in 3 months . while my cheap $3 mouse lasted for 3 years
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
so is a screw coming out or coming loose? You could use a very small amount of glue or a minuscule amount of loctite if it's metal on metal if that's the case.
Jary Roxas (1 year ago)
yeah i just fixed it yesterday with suggestions on other sites. I opened it up and adjusted the thumb button screw, then after that it just lags. what i did is i uninstalled the driver and restarted, works not, but still its hassle :|
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
That's a serious bummer. It totally stopped working?
I stopped taking this guys serious when he said it's not ergonomic
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
+3ds Masterrace It's not ergonomic for everyone with that pronounced back hump.
my cats (1 year ago)
Is it easy to accidentally press down on the hidden side button thing? Can you disable it?
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
+my cats I only did it a little at first, and quickly got used to it. It requires a moderate pressure and it worked well for me. I believe you can change the function or disable it, but I cannot verify since I returned it.
Xeraser (1 year ago)
"This just ruins it!" >uses obscure editing software >doesn't switch to some decent editor >"training wheels mode" >calls it bad cause muh gaming mouse has 32940349 useless configurable buttons Mhmkay.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Powerdirector is actually pretty common among people who can't spend $600 for video editing software, but that's not even the crux of it. The mouse is crippled by bad software. Additional button are nice, but the functionality of the "Logitech Gaming Software" is far superior to the garbage software bundled with the mouse.
Hamish Bright (1 year ago)
Huh literally everyone i know uses super low dpi like 500 to 800 in csgo. Personally I use about 750 in everything for muscle memory.
SIRTRAX (1 year ago)
I use 350 dpi.
Hamish Bright (1 year ago)
Compulsion84 seems to be a trend with low dpi at the moment with lots of hand movements.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Really? That's interesting. I don't play competitive FPS anymore, but in CS Beta and CS Source it seemed most people were using very high DPIs. Everything is personal preference though. I like low DPI for precision sniping and high DPIs for whirling around quickly and reacting.
I have this mouse, and i have a lot of problems interference with Wifi. Its possible use it in ¨wired mode"?
pcfreak1992 (1 year ago)
I don't know but using the MX Master I can move the cursor across both of my monitors (~3000px wide) over a distance of 1.5 - 2 inches at a rather slow speed (over 5 seconds). I feel like if the mouse was any more sensitive I would have trouble using it and I am not even having it at the highest possible speed according to my operating system. You do realize that you can increase the speed in your OS?
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Yeah I had it topped out in my OS, I just prefer very sensitive mice. I think I'm usually at about 3500 dpi. For gaming, especially shooters, having a high DPI is often desirable.
VoidStream (1 year ago)
I fail to see how this is a flaw for gaming, seeing as most games where you might want a macro already allow you to set custom controls. If customizability and custom macros are something you desperately seek, I'm sure there's software out there you could find with an easy google search.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
My two issues are low DPI and bad software. The DPI is just too low for me and the software is just simplified and bad. Yes there are workarounds, but there's no excuse for such bad software for a high end mouse, especially when Logitech already has good software on cheaper mice.
Shadow Heart (1 year ago)
Nice video. I agree that there should be a custom input option to bind whatever key you type. For me, it is important to know if this mouse lags or jitters a little bit now and then. I have the MX Revolution for ten years. I can't use it for delicate movement like when I use photoshop, for example.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Thank you. Yeah... I don't quit understand logitech's rationale with this. Maybe they wanted a super lightweight program for computer illiterate / office people, but it really cripples it. Hopefully next iteration in a few years they'll wise up and fix it.
Zachary Arken (1 year ago)
100% I have this mouse and have had it for almost 5 months. I hate it. The software is garbage and works when it wants to and then at times does not work at all. I even sent one of these back and they sent me a brand new one. (cheers to Logitech for that) Mainly I just find the software is awful. I do video editing with the expensive adobe software and even that does not work correctly with the side scroll wheel. Literally, I use the side scroll wheel to change my songs on Spotify. This really is a horrid mouse. I bought the g502 core today just before posting this and you are the only video that actually holds to these points.
Zachary Arken (1 year ago)
Yea I was pretty shocked and it's a flagship model as well so I would have figured that it would have been better. Logitech Gaming Software is close to 180mb and this mouses software is close to 19mb. That should tell you something right there. Though the one thing that I will give them is the mx master is vastly more comfortable than every other mouse I've ever used but lacking the ability to save me time its a pretty dud. I just wanted to say thank you for an honest review for once.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Yeah I was surprised nobody mentions there's a lot of problems with the horizontal wheel (the whole point of the mouse) or the software. I did find the G600 was kind've nice for buttons and the ergonomics are decent. It's not exactly horizontal scroll, but you can bind the crap out of it.
Bryan Arnold (1 year ago)
I also have large hands and the best mouse I have owned to fit my hand is the UtechSmart Venus....it is a less know name but, it has been amazing!
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
I'll have to check it out if I decide to pickup (yet another) mouse. I recently got the G600, which I've been very happy with for customization.
Michael Xz (1 year ago)
don't know what he's talking about, when he talks about the dpi being a problem because of his multiple monitors. I have a 2560 wide screen and after adjusting the settings in windows (not logitech software), i can move from one side of the screen to another with a flick of the wrist. The thing about this mouse is you have to adjust it a lot in the logitech settings (plus that simple adjustment in windows) to get it just right in all its behaviour. But... it's worth it* (*probably doesn't apply to gamers)
Tank kelly (1 year ago)
Great for editing!!!
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
That's very true! If it works with your software, then it definitely rocks.
Nakul Patel (1 year ago)
About the scroll wheels (i do have this mouse myself) they both work great in games and horizontal scrolling in browsers.
Monkey PunchZ (1 year ago)
Did you know that any mouse can do horizontal scrolling by holding the shift button on your keyboard? I just learned that yesterday, it's something I wish I knew 15 years ago.
siva krishna (2 months ago)
super
Username (3 months ago)
Oh dang
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
You're welcome.
Tuan Dung Lai (1 year ago)
Thanks!
Michael Xz (1 year ago)
and turn your mouse 90 degrees )
Artan Morina (1 year ago)
Thanks for t his review, this is the exacly review i was looking for, i was not sure between MX Master and G502. Definitely i am going G502. Is it also possible to customize g502 button for specific softwares (i'll be using 3ds max, autocad and archicad, sometimes Photoshop) like you did in your video example photoshop?
Artan Morina (1 year ago)
Compulsion84 thank you
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
So I have the G500, but I'm 99% sure the G502 works similarly. With the G500 you have customization options, but I don't know of any auto profile switch (like on my gamepad). You can manual change profiles. You could theoretically change the profile switch to an obscure button, but haven't tried it. I would STRONGLY recommend trying the gamepad (in the links). I didn't use mine for anything but gaming for the longest time. Then I used it for a little video editing, then I mapped the whole then, then I used it for common photoshop functions. It's super handy and I couldn't imagine productivity or creative tasks w/o it.
Mitchell Robinson (1 year ago)
This fixed it right up for me, thanks!
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
You're welcome.
Takwan (1 year ago)
it was meant for light gaming and mostly productivity :) btw great video
Takwan (1 year ago)
ohh
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Thanks. The gaming part was almost an after thought. I was stunned at how low the DPI was considering it's modern and high end. I know it's not it's purpose, but I wanted to make people aware of it so they don't rage out like I wanted to.
Bellock_Grithlus (1 year ago)
i have a big hand, tilting my wrist to use the MX master would hurt. so i need somthing for big hands that lets me claw grip
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
I palm grip myself. You might try the G500 (or it's successor) since it has long buttons. I'm also dabbling with the G600, which may work for claw. I'm not sure since I like the lazier palm grip. Good luck.
Ryan Rothschild (1 year ago)
thumbs up, he did a great review with it's flaws.
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Thanks, I always get irritated when someone doesn't cover both pros and cons of a product.
13 minutes to explain your issue... nah bro.
ASID Clutch (1 year ago)
Didn't say his name right
Colony Cube (1 year ago)
lol while you put on the sad smiley for this mouse?? what are you comparing? this mouse is badass which for work and even for gaming zzz put together which mouse that has horizontal scrolling?
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
Hah, it got the frowny face b/c it just wouldn't do exactly what I wanted. I found it way too slow for gaming and the lack of customization, especially the scroll wheel kinda ruined it. It's an OK mouse, but it just wasn't for me.
umit ikiz (1 year ago)
great video. thx. Can you zoom in and out timeline with one of these buttons?
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
If your software supports programming, you might be able to. Unfortunately I can't check the software directly since I returned the mouse.
Jonathan Loo (1 year ago)
Does anyone have a problem with the mouse that when you shake it, it make a noise? I'm thinking it's from the scroll wheel being loose?
Compulsion84 (1 year ago)
I read that the scroll wheel ratchet can break and stop working. Try searching "mx master scroll wheel issue".
Jay Lee (2 years ago)
I heard the opposite from many people. The people with smaller hands don't seem to find this comfortable. Others with the large or very large hands feel this much more comfortable. Hope they do a software update.
Jared Schwager (9 months ago)
Completely agree. I have large hands and after trying both the M705 and M720 (which many people say are very comfortable) I ended up buying the MX Master 2S today. Much, much more comfortable than the others.
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
It looks like it would be really comfortable, maybe it's just the shape of my hands. Oh well, I'll check out the Master v2 if that ever comes out. I've been using the G600 lately with my G500. I kinda like the G600.
Bad Max (2 years ago)
scroll wheel was the problem with mine it went into free spin mode and could not stop with that clutch thing. after waiting for 1 month finally got brand new as replacement now will see how long it lasts. i also have g100 and g502 g700s is great but you have to charge it every night
Bad Max (2 years ago)
havent tried the g900 and it is a bit overpriced but it has great features as g502 plus bonus wireless mode as mx master :)
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
The G900 seems to be a sort of money grab to me. I never go above 4000 DPI myself. Sadly, I feel that I'm getting old since I'm factoring ergonomics and performance, haha.
Bad Max (2 years ago)
g502 a bit heavy but you get used to it i removed all weights . i have it for 15 months and i am happy. problem is the rubber is getting a bit messed on the thumb rest . if g900 gets some price drob maybe will buy that one . until then mx master and g502 are just fine :) g100 i use on laptop
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
+Bad Max how do you like the 502 ergonomics wise? I have the 500 myself.
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
+Bad Max I had the g700 for a few months. It worked pretty well, but the charging constantly thing bugged me too,especially for FPS.
Aleks PlayZ (2 years ago)
I recommend the mad cats r.a.t gaming mouse it's meant for people who can't find the perfect mouse to it they're hands
Aleks PlayZ (2 years ago)
+Compulsion84 you can adjust it to comfortably fit in your hand
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
Is it actually comfortable? It looks like an angry transformer.
Eduardo Augustine (2 years ago)
Great video. This Mouse is pretty good. I agree with you that it needs more customization options, but it does the work well. This won't make it for gaming though. Good laser tracker, but not too speedy. And I can't activate the LEDs to see the battery life unless I check the software or turn off/on to check. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zBGqpOE4UY
Envy - Hunter (2 years ago)
well looks like in getting a different mouse now p-p thanks :P
Envy - Hunter (2 years ago)
+Compulsion84 lol I might get a death adder since the mouse i have from razer is small xD i have big hands so yea :P
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
Thanks. I'm flipping between that classic death adder and the g500 myself. I just realized that I said that in the video you just watched... oh well.
Envy - Hunter (2 years ago)
+Compulsion84 lol im back using a razer mouse :P but good video >.<
Compulsion84 (2 years ago)
You better just throw the MX master out, haha. It was weird disliking a good product.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.